How to survive GCSEs/Finals

Hi everyone!

I know many of you (including me) are taking your GCSEs in May/June. I for one and MASSIVELY nervous about it so I know many of you are too! Therefore, I wanted to do a blogpost that will help with everything involving the GCSEs. This means hopefully, after reading this, you will feel slightly less stressed about it and have a rough idea of how you are going to tackle the big tests. (Also brace yourself for a long post but I just want to help everyone with every aspect of the big tests as they are so important!)

This is also a collab with the lovely Mae who has her own blog and we’ve been reading each other for ages! She’s going to be posting about “how to stop procrastinating” so this will help you if you want to study, but get distracted easily! So go and read her post after this!

The dates

unnamed-2

Before you do anything, find out the dates of all your exams! Otherwise, you could be revising for a science exam when you actually have a maths exam coming up! What I have done, is written all my exams on my calendar along with the time and place it is being held in! I have also done this on my laptop, phone and iPad just so whatever I am doing, I know how long I have left till the exams arrive! This also means you know what exam is coming up so you know what you have to revise for!

Studying

Firstly, you HAVE to study! You cannot expect to pass with flying colours if you do not revise. There is a lot to remember from the past few years and there is most likely a lot you have forgotten or need to go over so PLEASE revise!! The main way I revise is by making my own revision booklets. I’m currently making one for every subject I am taking. Basically, what I am doing is on a word document, I am covering every section of each subject and writing easy notes from my books and revision guides in my own words so I understand them! This is because if your reading through a HUGE revision book, you may not be able to read it all and there may be key things your skipping over. I love making these booklets as everything I need to know for the exam is in one place and for revision, all I need to do is flick over the pages and read!

Another way I revise is also using past papers! I highly recommend getting the past GCSE papers from your exam board (mine is AQA) and print them off! This means that you will start getting used to the style of questions and normally questions do reappear or are very similar. You also understand what the mark schemes are like and what the examiners want you to include!

One last way I also study is going to revision sessions at school. I’m sure your schools offer them and they definitely will be on offer around the time of the tests but you can never start too early! My school offer revision sessions before and after school which are really good as you can go over the things you didn’t quite learn in lesson. Also, usually there aren’t as many people in the revision sessions so the teacher can pay a bit more attention to you so your going to learn more! Also, my school offer revision sessions during half terms and breaks. If your school does, you really should go to them as they are really useful and refresh your memory during your break. If your school doesn’t offer study sessions during the holidays, theres nothing stopping from you and your friends going to each others houses or the local library and doing a revision session together there!

Studying environment

The environment you are studying in is really important. If your trying to study in a noisy place with lots of chatter and distractions, its highly unlikely you’ll get a lot done. Find a place where it is quite and where you have enough space for all your studying things. Make sure the place you are studying such as a desk is organised. Theres nothing worse than studying at a cluttered desk and its also a risk of losing some important revision notes! I also suggest turning off any distractions such as your phone or television. If you are studying on a laptop, try not to go on any other sites or there are apps that you can set to block websites such as youtube for a certain amount of time.

Food 

When I’m studying, after a while I do get really hungry. Usually I end up eating chocolate and its not something you should be eating! Instead, have a large glass of water on your desk with some healthy foods such as berries, apples and things like that. If you don’t like water a lot, make a smoothie with lots of fresh fruit. These foods and drinks give you a boost and also increases productivity in the brain which will motivate you to work more!

Breaks and treats

Constantly revising for hours on end is not good for you as it will make you tired and very stressed. I suggest, every 30 minutes- 1 hour, take a 10 minute break. This could be watching a youtube video, going for a quick walk or talking to a friend on the phone. It breaks up studying really well and it makes you feel better as your rewarding yourself for your hard work. I’m also planning to often have some spa nights after a long revision session involving some lush bath bombs as it will make you feel very relaxed and proud of all the studying you have completed!

Clothing and appearance 

unnamed-62

This applies for both the exam and revision, but its really important to get changed and get ready for the day. As much as you would love to revise in your comfy pyjamas or go to school in your yoga pants, there are studies that show you perform better when you are ready and put more effort into what your wearing! For revision at home, I usually wear some leggings with a jumper of top as its comfortable but I feel a lot more productive. On the day of the exam, I suggest some jeans or a dress as this is quite comfortable but you will feel a lot more put together. If you wear makeup, on the day of the exam, I suggest wearing some makeup, it may be a little less than usual but it will make you feel a bit more normal! For hair, DO NOT WEAR A PONYTAIL! This is because ponytails put stress on the muscles in your head which cause headaches and thats the last thing you need during the exam! I also suggest do not have it completely down as this may be a distraction during the exam. I suggest putting your hair in a braid/plait or something like that as it looks cute but won’t cause any headaches or distractions!

So firstly I want to congratulate if you read all of that! I know I’ve written a lot but I really wanted to help you all with your revision to your GCSES/Finals! Just know you still have time till the exams and revise as much as you can. Go into the exam feeling confident and try your best as no matter what result you get, you know you couldn’t do any better!

I really hope these tips helped you and let me know how your feeling about the exams and what your planning to do!

Also if you want to quick and easy hairstyles for the exams, just let me know by commenting below!

-Tash x

35 thoughts on “How to survive GCSEs/Finals

    1. Haha, thats definitely not old! Thank you so much, I defiantly am planning to take some time off between long revision sessions and treat myself after each exam! I’ve heard that it defiantly gets a lot harder, but I like a challenge haha! xxx

      Like

    1. Thank you! I remember doing my year 9 mocks and I used these methods to study and I’m still using them two years later! Good luck with all your options, I remember how difficult it was for me to chose mine-just chose what you enjoy as thats what you will do best in! x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feeling! School seem to think that we should constantly be worrying about it, four years before they happen! Honestly, don’t feel too worried, year 10 is really the start of everything, so make the most of year 9 as from year 10-everything is crazy!😂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I used to wear a ponytail all the time, by they just gave me headaches a lot-it might just be me, but research has showed it puts stress on the muscles. It’s also a chance to try out new hairstyles haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thankyou for the suggestions! I like to do the low ponytail 🙂 I’m not sure if I’m allowed to wear a bun outside, but I love braids at home.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Hope! Of course your comments aren’t annoying-I love every single one of them! I take English, Maths, Science, Spanish, PE, Religion and Philosophy, ICT, Business studies and Geography! What about you? xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks that’s very nice of you to say so 🙂 I am doing English Lit and Language, Maths, Additional Science, RS, French, Art, History and German. Just realised we have the same first exam date-May 3rd! Nervous as its coming up quick! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! Well we can countdown together haha! I know, I’m so nervous as its so close, but there will be lots of blog posts to help us out with revision! Good luck with all your revision! xx

        Like

  1. This is honestly so helpful! And hey, nice to meet you! I just found your blog and it’s so amazing. I love how organized and classy it looks! It really looks so professional! Keep up the good work, I am definitely following! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

