Motivation to revise!

Hi everyone!

It is now SO CLOSE to my GCSEs and everyones final exams! I know lots of us (including myself!) are extremely stressed out and worried, but still cannot find any motivation to revise! Therefore, today I am going to give some tips of how to be motivated which will make you do amazingly in your exams!

This is also a collab with Zahra who will be writing about how to deal with transitioning between secondary school to college. She will be writing about how to adjust and so as well as you can! This will be very useful to read, especially if your moving into college or sixth form next year!

*Make a timetable

By making a timetable, you will feel so much more motivated to revise! This is as you will feel organised as you are prepared and know what you need to revise for each day. You can create one on Microsoft, or even have it hand written! You can colour coordinate it, make it look nice which will encourage you to look at it. This will ensure you can cover every subject so you don’t forget to revise for anything!

*Prioritise what you need to revise

All your revision will seem extremely stressful, but first, you need to focus on the most important pieces of revision. For example, if you have an English exam at the beginning of May, and a Science exam at the end of June, focus on revising for the English exam as you have to put that first so you feel confident! You will most likely forget a lot that you revised for science too, so revise in the order of your exams!

*Make a list

Making a to do list is one of the most useful things ever! By making a list of exactly what you need to revise as well as how and what you need to do in order to achieve that will make you feel really organised. It also motivates you to revise as when you see yourself ticking everything off, it will make you feel very happy and productive! I suggest making one before you go to sleep, so you know exactly what you need to accomplish the next day.

*Be realistic

It is extremely important to be realistic with the amount of revise you intend to do. If you have the goal of “revising for six hours everyday”, that is probably not going to happen. If you make huge, unreachable goals this is just going to worry you and demotivate you when you don’t reach them. Instead, make 2-3, achievable goals each day regrading revision. Some example I do is “Complete half of my English Paper”, “Cover two sections of PE theory” and “write flashcards for half of physics key words”. This means that you are capable of reaching the goals, and they don’t seem as daunting and difficult, so you are more likely to start them!

*Start early

Another way I have been a lot more motivated is by having a regular sleeping pattern which gives me enough sleep! My best sleeping pattern for the holidays sleeping at 10:30pm and waking up at 8:30pm, and for school, sleeping at 9:30pm and waking up at 6pm. This means you are getting enough sleep for yourself to feel awake, energetic and productive. Also, I highly recommend you start revision in the early morning. This is because this is when you are most awake (even if you don’t feel like it!) therefore this is when your brain works best so it will retain information more effectively. This means you can revise throughout the morning and early afternoon, and then you have the rest of the day to yourself!

*Clear study space

Whenever, I revise, I like the space or room I am in to be really tidy. This is because otherwise, I will feel distracted and less motivated due to all the clutter around me. If you have a clear study space, it allows you to have a clear mindset. It also means there are less distraction, and less of a chance you lose your revision notes!

*Remove distractions

Make sure, whenever you are revising you remove anything that will distract you. I suggest you turn off your phone and other electronics and put them in a different room as you will most likely get distracted by them!

*Have snacks and drinks nearby

When I’m revising, I find that I get very hungry which results me walking to the kitchen to fix myself something to eat. On the journey to the kitchen, I will tend to become distracted by something absolutely fascinating which will waste time! Then it will take me a while to actually decide what I want to eat, overall wasting a lot of revision time. Due to this, I suggest before you study, make yourself a glass of water and a small snack to have beside you so you don’t have to leave your space in order to get anything! I also suggest the snack being quite healthy as it will give you the boost you need to carry on. Save the chocolate for after the revision!

*Reward yourself

After your revision, you have to reward yourself! If you are revising for hours on end, without treating yourself, your not going to feel very happy at all! I like to vary my rewards based on how well I think I worked. For example, if I did quite well I would treat myself to an episode of Gossip Girl and some chocolate! However if I did crazily well one day, I may give myself a day off revision or a day out! Its important to have a balance. Also, for all you bloggers, have writing blog posts part of your reward system! After a long revision session, treat yourself by blogging as this means you won’t have to stop blogging due to exams, and you get to do something fun!

*Think of the end result

Lastly, just think of the end goal you have and picture why you are working so hard. Imagine yourself on results day, opening your envelope of grades and looking down all the grades and seeing every grade you got is one you hoped for! You will be incredibly proud of yourself and you will be unbelievably happy!

I hope you liked these ten tips to get you motivated to revise. I know a lot of us needed them so hopefully they will help! I know revision is absolutely terrible, but you need to remember you don’t want to look back, knowing you could have tried harder. Work as hard as you can, so you can feel as good as you can. Just think of all the treats you will have when the exams are over!

Good luck with all your revision and exams everyone! Let me know what tips you like and if you have any tips yourself to get motivated to revise!

Tash x

I N S T A G R A M | B L O G L O V I N ‘ | L A S T  P O S T

33 thoughts on “Motivation to revise!

  1. Having done my GCSEs, I have to say you are definitely on the right path. Just remember not to think about them too much, otherwise you will stress out, and it will not help at all! Work at your own pace, and you will be fine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m doing my last year and girl I am tired. I constantly feel like I’m ready to give up and just put back the whole pressure. Don’t get me wrong I’ve always been the kid to work hard and do her work but recently I just feel tired and lack that motivation to study. Any motivation?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly know what you mean! I am so close to my exams but sometimes I really cannot be bothered!Sometimes I get motivated by watching Youtube videos about how to revise and that really gets me motivated! I also step back and look how lazy I’ve been and think of everything I could have done that day which makes me feel as though I should work harder-which is what I’m doing! I would also say eating healthily really helps as it makes you feel so healthy, happy and energetic and makes me very productive! Just try to stay positive and focus on something much as a holiday or summer to keep you going. Good Luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

