Easy Cupcakes

Hi everyone!

You all know that I am a lover of baking. I love baking as its so fun and you can practically bake anything of any level of difficulty, for any occasion. However, as the exams have begun (good luck to everyone doing theirs!) I don’t have as much time to start from scratch. Due to this (and the fact I’m lazy!) I enjoy to use pre made mixes in my revision breaks as its something really fun to do, but is really quick and you get a yummy treat afterwards!

I bought these cake mixes by Betty crocker as they were on sale at only ยฃ2 each, so I thought why not give them a go? I picked up a red velvet cup cake mix as well as a Devils food cupcake mix. I liked the look of them as all you needed was eggs, oil, water and butter! I also chose these as they cook at the same temperature, so they can both cook together!

unnamed-89unnamed-88

Firstly, I emptied the cake mix into a bowl and added the eggs, oil and water. I then used an electric whisk as they are so much easier and quicker and whisked the mixtures for 2-3 minutes. If you do not have a electric whisk, you will just have to whisk for a little bit longer until the consistency is very smooth.

unnamed-90unnamed-91

I then lined the cupcake tins with the cupcake cases provided. I thought they were very cute with the red and white spotted design. I then spooned in the mixture so each case was filled with the same amount of mixture. I found the chocolate cupcake mixture slightly thicker, therefore it was a little bit harder to make all cases equal- but I got there in the end!

unnamed-92unnamed-93unnamed-95

I then popped them in the oven for 15 minutes. To make sure they were fully cooked, I inserted a fork in the middle of a cupcake and if it came out clean, it meant it was fully cooked. I then placed the cupcakes on a baking tray to cool.

While the cupcakes were cooling, it was time to make the icing. For the icing, I measured out 60g of butter and put that in a bowl with the icing sugar which was provided in the packet. I whisked with the electric whisk again until it was thick and smooth. I added some vanilla extract to the red velvet icing just so it was stronger! You could even add food colouring to the icing if you wanted to too!

unnamed-98unnamed-97

When the cakes were completely cool (its really important that you let them cool completely, otherwise when you add the icing, it will melt off!), I iced the cakes. As you can see, I am not the best at icing in the world, but I thought they look pretty good! I then sprinkled the chocolate sprinkles all over! (which went everywhere but actually looked good in the photos!)

unnamed-102unnamed-101unnamed-99unnamed-100

Both of the cakes tasted really good and I’m really happy with how they looked! The mixes made nine cakes therefore in total, I had eighteen cupcakes! These are great to share with your family, have as a snack while revising or just eating all to yourself! It’s just a nice way to spend an hour baking, without it having to be too difficult!

I hope you enjoyed reading about how to make these cupcakes, I highly recommend the pre made packets from Betty Crocker as they are really affordable and very easy to make!

Tash x

I N S T A G R A M | B L O G L O V I N’ | L A S T P O S T

 

27 thoughts on “Easy Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

