Tanya Burr Cookies!

Hi everyone!

As you all know, I am a huge fan of baking and have done quite a few blog posts of some of the things I’ve baked. Now I’m back again with a chocolate chip cookie recipe which is inspired by the recipe by Tanya Burr in her book ‘Love Tanya’.

unnamed-21 20.05.29

To make 10 cookies you will need:

  • 200g butter
  • 325g self raising flour
  • 300g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • milk (optional)
  • chocolate

First, measure out your butter and sugar and put them into a bowl. As you can see, I haven’t used caster sugar, I have used brown sugar. This is as I didn’t have any but also it is a lot healthier and considering the amount of sugar the cookies contain-I thought this was the better option! I’ve made these cookies before and in my option, they taste better with the brown sugar and actually turned out much better!

unnamed-22 20.05.20

Then, whisk in the large egg and then add the flour by sifting it a little at a time. I suggest using a wooden spoon for this as its meant to form a sort of dough, as if you used an electric whisk it may be a bit difficult too! If the mixture looks a bit too wet, add a bit of flour and if it looks slightly dry-add a drop of milk! Mine was slightly sticky as I didn’t want to add too much flour, but it was still okay to handle.

After everything is combined together, its time to add in the chocolate! I didn’t put any measurements in the instructions as I think its personal preference. I took this Cadburys Dairy Milk Bar which is actually a new one which consists of dark, milk and white chocolate! I chopped it up and stirred it it!

unnamed-23 20.05.20

Now its time to put the mixture on the baking trays! I suggest lining the trays with greaseproof paper, rather than buttering it as this means you’ll be 100% that the cookies will not stick! The recipe makes 10 cookies, however my trays were a bit small, so I decided to make 8 bigger ones. Turn your oven onto 200 degrees and pop them in the oven for 10-12 minutes. At 12 minutes they still may look like they need “a couple more minutes” but TRUST ME and take them out! I did this before and they turned out more like cakes!

unnamed-26 20.05.20

Leave them in the baking trays to cool for 25 minutes, as they are incredibly soft when out of the oven so don’t try to move them! After they are cool, you can now enjoy these delicious cookies! They are my new favourite thing to bake, its so easy to do and takes such little time-and has all the ingredients that are probably already in your kitchen!

unnamed-25 20.05.29unnamed-24 20.05.20

I hope you all enjoyed reading how to make these Tanya Burr cookies! Let me know what other recipes you want to see me bake!

Tash x

 

18 thoughts on “Tanya Burr Cookies!

    1. Thank you so much! The first time I made them last year they didn’t come out right at allπŸ˜‚ but thankfully they were perfect this time! Thank you, I’m definitely planning on baking more this summer! xx

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

