Banoffee Pie

Hi Everyone!

A few months back, I did a Q&A and one of the questions were ‘What’s your favourite dessert?’. My answer was Banoffee Pie- and strangely to me, not many people had heard of it!  Banoffee pie consists of a biscuit base, layered with caramel and banana slices, and topped with cream. Its so delicious, and can be altered for those who prefer other ingredients. As not many people had heard of the dessert- I thought I would show you all how to make it, so you can try it for yourself!

unnamed-39 20.05.20

You will need:

  • 250g digestive biscuits- crushed
  • 100g of butter, melted
  • 375g of caramel- you can make your own but I went down the easy route!
  • 300g of double cream
  • 2-3 bananas
  • Chocolate

Firstly, melt the butter on a low heat in a saucepan. While its melting, put the digestive biscuits into a bag, and bash them into small pieces with a rolling pin or anything else you can find! When the butter has fully melted, take it off the stove and add the crushed biscuits and mix.

unnamed-40 20.05.20

When combined, pour it into a cake tin of 20cm, or any other dish/ cake tin you have (if it is a lot bigger than 20cm, the ingredient amounts may have to be increased). Pat it into a flat, even layer with slightly more at the edges to make a supportive crust. Place this into the fridge to set for 10-15 minutes.

unnamed-42 20.05.20

While the base is in the fridge, pour the double cream into a bowl and use an electric whisk to mix it, until it forms stiff peaks. I highly suggest a electric whisk if you have one as it takes a lot less time. A hand held whisk will work- but it will take a very long time! Many people may want to use squirt cream from a can, but I really suggest you don’t as the fresh cream makes it taste so much better!

unnamed-41 20.05.29

After the base is set, take it out of the fridge. Pour the caramel onto the base and spread it around evenly with a knife. Then, place it back into the fridge for a few moments to set. After this, slice the bananas into thin equal slices. Take the pie out of the fridge and place the banana slices on top.

unnamed-43 20.05.20

Finally, spread the cream on top of the banana layer. You could pipe it and may it look very pretty- but I just spooned it on and smoothed it out. I realised I had a little of the caramel left over, so I drizzled it on top of the cream. Lastly, I took the chocolate and grated it all over. You can use whatever chocolate you desire, but I just went for a sainsburys basic bar. I only ended up using about half a bar.

unnamed-44 20.05.20

Place the pie to chill in the fridge until you think its set and ready to eat!

unnamed-46 20.05.20unnamed-47 20.05.20unnamed-48 20.05.20unnamed-45 20.05.29

I hope you enjoyed this recipe of my favourite dessert EVER! If you don’t like some of the ingredients, you could switch the caramel out for Nutella, or bananas for strawberries! It can be changed into a variety of delicious desserts! If any of you do make this- I would love to see it! Send me an email of it, or tag me on Instagram or Twitter!

Tash x

I N S T A G R A M | T W I T T E R | L A S T P O S T

29 thoughts on “Banoffee Pie

Leave a Reply

