Tash Travels: Turkey 2016

Hi Everyone!

Recently, I have just returned from Antalya, Turkey where I spent a week there with my family. I had never been to Turkey before, meaning I was extremely excited to see what it was like. Obviously, before I went there were some terrible things happening in Turkey, so there were lots of concerns about people visiting. However, where I stayed, it was extremely far away from the city and everyone there was safe, busy and happy!

image-10-08-16-03-21-18image-10-08-16-03-21-13image-10-08-16-03-23

We jetted off for Turkey on July 29th, we were lucky as we had a daytime flight of 3pm. The journey was four hours which is the longest I’ve been on a plane, but I passed the time by watching some youtube videos and reading some books. If you want to see what was in my carry-on, you can find out here!

image-10-08-16-03-21-2image-10-08-16-03-21image-10-08-16-03-21-6

We arrived quite late and eventually got to the hotel for around 11pm. The hotel we stayed at was the Royal Wings hotel which is actually a five-star hotel. Now, I’ve never been to a five-star hotel before and it was very impressive. There were ten huge floors with glass lifts which you could see the swimming pool, the beach and the sea which was all so beautiful. I was very excited to take lots of photos as the landscaping was so beautiful.

image-10-08-16-03-21-9image-10-08-16-03-21-3image-10-08-16-03-21-12

I live in England, meaning it’s not very hot here as the majority of the year its a bit chilly and cloudy. Turkey, on the other hand, was extremely hot with temperatures up to 47 DEGREES when I was there. 47. I know, it’s crazy and I don’t know how I survived, but it wasn’t an uncomfortable, horrible hotness as there was the huge swimming pool to cool off in. The pool was huge, swirling everywhere with bridges running over them to different food areas such as ice cream, pizza and fruit bars. I may or may not had pizza and ice cream for lunch every day- but I mean, I was on holiday!

image-10-08-16-03-21-14image-10-08-16-03-21-1image-10-08-16-03-21-5

I spent many days by the pool reading as it’s my favourite thing to do on holiday. This school year I haven’t had much time to do any reading for leisure, so this was a perfect timeΒ to. I managed to read five books when on holiday which may sound a lot to some people, but I was reading all day by the pool- so I always have to bring lots haha! Being a pure English rose, I am extremely pale and didn’t get a huge tan. I do actually have tan lines and am a lot more tanned than before- but I am now a normal pale, rather than board line albino haha! And yes, in the pure English style I did get sunburn which is inevitable for me as it happens every year.

image-06-08-16-11-55image-10-08-16-03-21-4image-06-08-16-11-55-2

We were extremely lucky as we were practically on the beach with our hotel location. In past holidays we had to walk around ten minutes through towns to the nearby beaches. This hotel, however, they owned part of the beach which could be accessed down a path of the hotel- I could get there in about two minutes from my sun lounger. The beach was so stunning, golden sand and blue waters. Before Turkey, I hadn’t ever swum in the sea properly before (and trust me, in England you don’t want to swim in the sea!) so it was really fun to do so. But, I did discover how salty the sea is when jumping off the pier with my brother. It was very fun- but the mouthful of saltwater wasn’t as fun! There were lots of water sports to do on the beach which all looked really exciting. On our last full day, we went on jet skis. It was really thrilling bouncing over all the waves with people parasailing next to you, but not as thrilling and exciting when you almost crash into a boat…oops!

image-06-08-16-11-55-3image-10-08-16-03-21-8image-10-08-16-03-21-17

The food was also really great in Turkey, I do like trying new foods but I’m not the person who would go too far out of my comfort zone. I was pleased that there was a huge buffet for all meals of a range of food which was delicious. It was fun trying new things and discovering foods that I want to keep on having at home. But I did miss some of my favourite things such as sweet potato fries, English breakfasts and innocent smoothies!

image-10-08-16-03-21-19image-10-08-16-03-21-6image-10-08-16-03-21-10

Overall, I had an amazing time at Turkey. It was also the first holiday with my Dad’s fiancee and her son, so it was great to spend time with them before we all move in together later on this year. I loved Turkey’s beautiful beaches, huge swaying palm trees, morning songs and cats (there was so many I wanted to take them home!). I highly suggest visiting Turkey, it’s a beautiful place and I’m so happy I spent this years holiday there! I hope you enjoy the holiday snaps I took too, everything was just so pretty!

Tash x

| I N S T A G R A M | T W I T T E R | L A S T P O S T |

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Tash Travels: Turkey 2016

  1. Turkey looks so nice!! My mum has always been a bit weary of going there but I think I’m going to have to persuade her now, it looks gorgeous!! I’m jealous of the heat, but at least there’s going to be an English heatwave (oooooo 26 degrees!)πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It was really amazing! I did have my concerns at first too, but honestly you wouldn’t have even known that there were problems in the country- and I was about 8 hours away from where all the bad stuff was happening so everything was completely normal! The heat was amazing, I don’t know how I survived it! But yes I’m looking forward to this lovely heatwave too!πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

