6 things that happened in 2016

I cannot believe 2016 is almost over…WHERE has it gone?! This year has been a rollercoaster; it’s had massive ups and downs but I’ve really enjoyed the ride. This year has probably been the most eventful year of my life so far, so I thought I would share a few things that really stood out for me this year.

1. My Dad proposed!

In March this year, after being with his girlfriend for a year, my Dad finally proposed to her! My parents have been divorced for almost 7 years now and there is nobody who deserves to be happy than my Dad. We were all so happy and I’m so happy to see my Dad happy and to be a part of a big family again. The past seven years have been difficult at times but that moment has all been worth it! My Dad and his fiancee are set to get married September next year- and I get to be bridesmaid whoop whoop!

2. I left Secondary school&started sixth form

On the 10th of June, I left secondary school with my friends who I had spent five years of my life with. The last day was so much fun, despite having a biology GCSE in the morning! We decorated our school shirts, signed each other’s shirts with every coloured sharpie imaginable and then spent the rest of the day down the road at the park eating fish and chips and taking hundreds of photos. Although it feels like secondary school goes so slow while you are in the lower years, you get to year 11 and realise how fast it really goes. I do miss it a lot now and again, so enjoy it while you can!

3. I got my GCSE results!

On the 25th of August this year, it was the day I had been waiting for…RESULTS DAY!! I had this on my countdown app on my phone even before the GCSEs had begun and as soon as I knew it, it was the actual day! I remember my best friend and I walking to school to get our results, we were so nervous! We had a million self-doubts…‘maths was so hard I definitely didn’t get the A’ and ‘I heard the mark scheme went up in English’. However, we got to school and opened our envelopes. I was so pleased and felt so shaky as my friends and I exchanged our results. For my GCSEs, I received the results of 3 A*s, 10 As and 1 B! I was honestly ecstatic and was on a high for the following week, I just couldn’t stop grinning!

4. Holiday in Turkey and Cornwall

After the GCSEs, I went to Turkey for a week with my family. It was our first family holiday after my Dad’s proposal back in March. It was so fun going to a country I had never been before, the hotel was magnificent and the beach was gorgeous. It was amazing being able to have as much food as you wanted- I FOR SURE had one too many ice creams, but I was on holiday so who cares?! It was fun exploring the town around us, as well as spending the day at the beach and going jet-skiing, even if we almost crashed into a boat…oops!

I am really close to my Grandparents, the only trouble is that they live a 7-hour drive in Cornwall. Due to this, we decided to visit them in the Autumn half term. Although we got lost a few times on the drive that felt like ETERNITY, it was such a good time. Everything there is so…quiet, a huge difference to being here, in the suburbs of London!

5. I moved house

This year I also moved house, in fact, it wasn’t too long ago…it was only 10 days ago! That’s right, we moved house on THE WEEK OF CHRISTMAS…I have no idea what we were thinking. But after a few days of lifting, packing, unpacking and exasperated sighs, we were moved in for Christmas! This was the first time I had moved (that I can remember) so leaving my home of 15 years is pretty emotional and when I visited it a few days ago to clean it up for some viewings, I might have cried a bit…okay a lot. But I know I’ll be settled in soon enough after I’ve decorated my room to the point I think it’s ‘pinteresty’ enough!

2016 has been one of the craziest, if not the craziest year of my life. It’s full to the brim of ups and downs but it’s been a year where I’ve learnt a lot and wouldn’t change a single thing-maybe the cold weather and my brother breaking his arms…but hey nothings perfect!

Happy New Year, I hope you all have a wonderful 2017. Thank you, everyone, who has supported my little blog this year, I cannot explain how thankful I am.

Tash Β x

I N S T A G R A M | T W I T T E R | L A S T P O S T

20 thoughts on “6 things that happened in 2016

  1. Sounds like you had a great year, moving house near Christmas now that is exciting! I hope you can do a post of a wedding makeup look!? Have a great 2017, Izzy Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s been a crazy year! In September 2017 I’m planning to do a while post about the wedding so I’ll be sure to include lots of photos of my makeup- I think I’m getting it done by a professional which is so exciting, I’ll pay close attention to the products she uses as well! Have a lovely 2017!πŸ’—

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow sounds like a busy crazy year πŸ™‚ Grats on your gcse’s and kudos to your dad for proposing! Hope you have a great 2017 πŸ˜€ In fact I moved during Christmas as well and its hard…I love my old house but oh well, its not too far away and its bigger so…there’s always a bright side to everything right πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

