Beating the Winter Blues

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! Yes, I’m wishing you all the best year ever…two weeks into it. 2016 was a hectic year, especially at the end with moving house and having no wifi for almost three whole weeks, hence the lack of blog posts for a bit. I’m SUPER SORRY about all of that, but with the wifi router now working furiously fast, the blog posts are back!

A New Year can be fab-a clean slate, resolutions are made and half of the population gets a new gym membership after cancelling theirs about March last year…But I find a week or two later, the novelty has worn off and we all just slip back to normality and everyone feels a bit ‘meh’. The days become very dark very quickly meaning I’m waking up in the dark and arriving home in it too and it’s absolutely FREEZING as it has been snowing for the past few days which was pretty and all, but almost falling down the driveway isn’t as cute. If I’m honest, I really don’t start enjoying the year until about April as that’s when the weather starts looking up, but there are a few ways I like to cheer myself up when I’m feeling a bit low due to the Winter Blues.

SOMETHING GOOD IN EVERYDAY NOTEBOOK

fullsizerender-13-01-17-08-24-3

A little DIY (well it’s not a DIY because you need two items which involve no glueing, cutting or sewing but let’s just go with it) I like to do is buying myself the cutest notebook I can find and then every day, write something good that happened that day. It might be something tiny like having a nice lay in on a Saturday or something huge like getting great school results or going on holiday. This causes you to look at the positives of every day, whether it’s big or small and will be fab to look back on at the end of the year.

GOING FOR A WALK

fullsizerender-13-01-17-08-24-2

As I live so far away from my school, I don’t get to enjoy the walk there anymore as now I’m being whizzed up the motorway every morning, but it’s warm and I can blast capital FM so no complaints there. But this does mean I am doing less physical activity and I want to change that. Going for a walk after school or on a weekend can be incredibly good for you, as well as doing exercise, it lets you really pay attention to your surroundings and find the beauty in winter, despite it making you feel like a walking and talking icicle. Explore somewhere you’ve never been before, take a trip to the park and take some photos or just walk around the block!

ORGANISE THE HECK OUT OF MY LIFE

unnamed-17

Due to these ‘Winter Blues’, I find that I become even lazier than usual (somehow that’s possible) which makes me feel super cluttered both mentally and in my physical surroundings. Having a day where you simply organise your life helps sooooo much! I love to make lists on my phone as it means they are accessible at all time. I have everything on there; things to do, things to buy, homework due dates- basically my whole life. Having a diary can really help you organise your events, or you could find some really cute weekly planner printables on Pinterest which always make me feel like I’m ready to face the week! It makes you feel so motivated and less stressed due to all the planning and knowing where everything is!

HAVING A WELL DESERVED ‘ME DAY’

fullsizerender-13-01-17-08-24

Despite it only being halfway through January, I feel as though I’ve been SO busy! My school has been pretty demanding recently due to having our AS exams this year (eek!), so I’m currently up in my neck of complicated English literature essays, confusing computer system definitions and attempting to remember everything in psychology- I sometimes feel like I’m going to explode! All this stress can sometimes really demotivate me and bring me down, so the perfect way to perk back up is to treat yo self! I love to spend a whole evening relaxing; having a nice bubble bath, getting on fresh pyjamas, lighting candles, painting my nails- the whole shibang. I love it as you are taking care of yourself and relaxing, not having to worry about anything, and after you are left feeling v relaxed and happy!

That’s a few ways I like to beat those Winter Blues, they affect everyone in some way so you’re not alone! I hope you all are having a fab year so far-and don’t worry, the warmer weather will be here before we know it!

Tash x

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | LAST POST

 

 

21 thoughts on “Beating the Winter Blues

Leave a Reply

