Fighting the Flu

It’s that time 0f year where pretty much everyone has a little cough or cold here and there or is just feeling ‘a little under the weather’. However, for the past few days, I haven’t just had a ‘little’ cold, I’ve had days off school, lying in bed and feeling sorry for myself because I felt like the living dead. I absolutely HATE being ill- and trust me to fall ill at the most inconvenient time as this week has been my A Level mock exam week. Feeling ill is the WORST as you just feel soooo disgusting and want to do nothing but stay in bed (actually I would love to stay in bed all day but just not feeling like this ughhh). I thought I would give you all a few tips that have helped me get better over the past few days, whether you are just feeling a little ill, or questioning whether you will be dead by morning because your sore throat is just TOO MUCH.

GET COMFY

If you are going to be in all day, it’s essential that you feel comfy! I like to stay in my bedroom, turn on my fairy lights to give the room a soft glow rather than having lots of harsh lighting blinding me! I gather every blanket I can find and pile them onto my bed which makes me feel sooooo cosy! I also have to be dressed comfortable too so I liked to wear comfy pyjamas- but if you are actually being sick, I recommend not wearing those cute new ones you got the other week! Just stick to an old, comfy pair!

HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED WITHIN REACH

After I’m all cosy and v comfy, I don’t want to keep having to stumble out of bed to get something I need. Therefore, on my bedside table, I like to keep everything I am going to need that day. This includes a huge glass of water to keep hydrated, medicine, snacks, a book and anything else. This means you can stay nice and warm in your blankets! I also suggest being near a plug point and plugging in your chargers for your phone or laptop. This is because throughout the day it’s 100% likely to run out of battery, so this means when you suddenly realise you only have 2%- you can just plug it in!

SLEEP

As sixth form is becoming more stressful by the day, sleep is all over the place for me. But being ill, you HAVE to get lots of sleep to make you feel better. Getting 8-10 hours of sleep can really boost your energy and will clear any headaches you have making you feeling a lot better than before!

JUST DRINK THAT REVOLTING MEDICINE

I hate medicine sooo much. Why do they have to make such disgusting flavours- they claim it’s strawberry, um is that a misprint for ‘the most disgusting thing you will consume so far of your 17 years of life’? Although it tastes horrible, it’s there to make you better. Take whatever you prefer, medicine or tablets- just get them in you!

RELAX

Even though I am ill on my mock exam week, I knew I was not going to get better if I was trying to revise and do a heck load of homework as I simply do not have the energy! Do minimal activities so you can gradually build up your energy. If you have a headache, stay away from electronics and stick to a book or have a nap, but if not go on your laptop and browse some shops or catch up with your favourite television series! But, also ensure you get some fresh air just by sitting out in the garden for 10 minutes or opening a window as although it’s flipping freezing at the moment, the fresh air will wake you up and make you feel so much better!

FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD

One of the worst things about being ill is that sometimes you can’t even stomach your favourite foods so chocolate and pizza were out of the question for me (internally screams). But I cannot stress HOW IMPORTANT it is to eat while you are ill. For a whole day, I ate nothing but a slice of toast and I felt awful. I felt like I wasn’t hungry AT ALL but it left me feeling so weak and resulting in my belly rumbling at 2am which isn’t the greatest when trying to get those 8-10 hours of sleep! Stick to simple, dry foods such as toast and crackers and build your way up to soups which make you feel so warm which is great in weather like this! Then as soon as you know it, you will be scoffing your face with pizza very soon (or at least I know I will be!).

Those are a couple of tips that I have for feeling a bit better when being ill at the moment- despite still being ill at the moment, I feel SO much better by following these steps and hopefully will be back to normal (just tired rather than ill&tired) by next week!

I hope that any of you who are feeling ill or just under the weather feel better soon! The weather is getting warmer now (a HUGE jump from -1 degrees to 2 degrees now, summer is basically here whooop!) so hopefully the flu will soon be over until this time next year!

Tash x

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | LAST POST

15 thoughts on “Fighting the Flu

      1. Omg just realized how many mistakes I had in my comment… I really do have to check my comments before actually sending them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

